Exchange at all levels - Federal Minister Wanka's visit to Turkey

The German-Turkish Year of Science has time and again shown one thing to be true: that nothing works better than a face-to-face meeting. As well as taking part in the official opening of the Turkish-German University (TDU), Federal Minister of Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka attended a number of political meetings during her visit to Turkey to discuss bilateral co-operation. Her itinerary also included visits to German institutions and meetings with scientists.

DTWJ_Teaser

The first stop on Wanka's visit was the capital city of Ankara on 28 April, where she met her Turkish counterpart Fikri Işık to discuss co-operation in the German-Turkish Year of Science and beyond. The meeting was also attended by Yücel Altunbaşak, the President of Turkey's Scientific and Technological Research Council (TÜBITAK). The talks centred around the new 2+2 bidding procedure (a programme organised by the BMBF and TÜBITAK to promote R&D projects with the involvement of science and business), the upcoming Turkey weeks at German universities, the closing event for the German-Turkish Year of Science in Turkey and planned science exhibitions.

During talks with Turkish Minister of National Education Avci, Wanka took the opportunity to raise the issue of bilateral co-operation in vocational training. The discussions covered options for increasing the acceptance of dual education amongst people of Turkish origin living in Germany, along with plans for a joint conference on dual education set to take place in Turkey as part of the German-Turkish Year of Science.

Visit to the German School and METU in Ankara

Alongside the political talks, Wanka's itinerary for 28 April included a visit to the well-equipped German School in Ankara, where she was impressed by the high level of commitment demonstrated by the school's leadership team and teaching staff in providing the pupils with an internationally-oriented education. The intercultural benefits of the school for children from both German and Turkish cultures were unmistakeable.

Wanka also visited the Middle East Technical University (METU) together with Federal President Gauck. METU, one of Turkey's largest and best-known universities, is an official partner of the German-Turkish Year of Research, Education and Innovation 2014 and is involved in the collaboration between the two countries through schemes such as the BMBF-sponsored project "Professional networking of women in IT".

Opening of the Turkish-German University (TDU) in Istanbul

The second leg of the visit saw Wanka travel to Istanbul, where she took part in the official opening of the TDU by Federal President Gauck and Turkish President Abdullah Gül on 29 April, one of the highlights of the German-Turkish Year of Science. In the series of discussions with TDU students that followed the opening ceremony, Minister Wanka announced that the BMBF will be providing an additional €2 million over the next two years to attract highly qualified scientists to the TDU.

The visit concluded with a tour of the Orient Institute in Istanbul (OI). The OI is supported by the BMBF and is one of the most important German institutions in Turkey in the field of humanities research. Wanka was impressed by its wide-ranging research areas, its high level of scientific competency and the degree of commitment it shows in fulfilling its scientific role in the network between two cultures and religions. The OI is also running several projects as part of the German-Turkish Year of Science.

"I am delighted to be able to gain an impression of the diversity of the German-Turkish partnership on science and education here in Turkey," said Wanka in summary of her visit to Turkey. "Talks with my fellow ministers have shown that education and research are becoming increasingly important in German-Turkish relations".


As part of the German-Turkish Year of Research, Education and Innovation 2014, the International Bureau supports the Federal Ministry of Education and Research with the organization and preparation of different measures. The visit of Federal Minister of Education and Research Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka to Turkey on April 28 was one of the highlights. She participated in the official opening of the Turkish-German University (TDU) in Istanbul and attended several other political meetings.

'Austausch auf allen Ebenen – Türkei-Reise von Bundesministerin Wanka'

Im Deutsch-Türkischen Wissenschaftsjahr (DTWJ) zeigt sich immer wieder eines: Nichts geht über das persönliche Gespräch. Während ihrer Türkei-Reise nahm Bundesministerin für Bildung und Forschung Prof. Dr. Johanna Wanka - neben der offiziellen Eröffnung der Türkisch-Deutschen Universität (TDU) zahlreiche politische Termine wahr, um sich über die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit auszutauschen. Auch der Besuch deutscher Institutionen und Wissenschaftler stand auf dem Programm.

Logo des deutsch-türkischen Wissenschaftsjahres

Erste Reisestation war am 28. April die Hauptstadt Ankara. Dort traf sich Wanka mit ihrem türkischen Amtskollegen Fikri Işık, um sich über die Zusammenarbeit im DTWJ und darüber hinaus auszutauschen. An dem Treffen nahm auch der Präsident des Türkischen Wissenschafts- und Forschungsrats (TÜBITAK) Yücel Altunbaşak teil. Im Mittelpunkt der Gespräche standen die Neuauflage der 2+2-Ausschreibung (ein Programm des BMBF und TÜBITAK zur Förderung von FuE-Projekten mit Beteiligung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft), die anstehenden Türkei-Wochen an deutschen Hochschulen, die Abschlussveranstaltung des DTWJ in der Türkei sowie geplante Wissenschafts-Ausstellungen.

Im Gespräch mit dem türkischen Minister für Nationale Bildung Avci bot sich Wanka die Gelegenheit, die bilaterale Zusammenarbeit zur beruflichen Bildung zu erörtern. Hierbei ging es zum einen um die Möglichkeiten, die Akzeptanz von dualer Bildung bei der türkischstämmigen Bevölkerung in Deutschland auszubauen, zum anderen um die Planung einer gemeinsamen Konferenz in der Türkei zur dualen Bildung, die im Rahmen des DTWJ stattfinden soll.

Besuch der Deutschen Schule und der METU in Ankara

Neben politischen Gesprächen stand am 28. April auch die Deutsche Schule in Ankara auf dem Programm. In der gut ausgestatteten Schule überzeugte sich Wanka vom großen Engagement der Schulleitung und des Lehrpersonals bei der international ausgerichteten Ausbildung der Schüler. Der interkulturelle Nutzen der Schule für Kinder aus dem deutschen und dem türkischen Kulturkreis war dabei unverkennbar.

Zusammen mit Bundespräsidenten Gauck besuchte Wanka auch die Technische Universität des Nahen Ostens (METU). Die METU, eine der größten und renommiertesten Universitäten der Türkei, ist offizieller Partner des Deutsch-Türkischen Jahres der Forschung, Bildung und Innovation 2014 und engagiert sich unter anderem durch das BMBF-geförderte Projekt "Fachliche Vernetzung von Frauen in der Informatik" in der deutsch-türkischen Kooperation.

Eröffnung der Türkisch-Deutschen Universität (TDU) in Istanbul

Die zweite Reiseetappe führte nach Istanbul, zur feierlichen Eröffnung der TDU am 29. April durch Bundespräsident Gauck und den türkischen Staatspräsidenten Abdullah Gül – ein Höhepunkt im DTWJ. Bei der anschließenden Diskussionsrunde mit Studierenden der TDU gab Ministerin Wanka bekannt, dass das BMBF in den kommenden zwei Jahren zwei Millionen Euro zusätzlich zur Verfügung stellen werde, um besonders qualifizierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für die TDU zu gewinnen.

Abgerundet wurde die Reise durch einen Besuch des Orient Instituts in Istanbul (OI). Das institutionelle durch das BMBF geförderte OI ist eine der wichtigsten deutschen Einrichtungen in der Türkei auf dem Gebiet der geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschung. Es beeindruckte durch das breite Themenspektrum seiner Forschungsbereiche, seine hohe wissenschaftliche Kompetenz und das große Engagement, mit dem es seine wissenschaftliche Rolle im Netzwerk zwischen zwei Kulturen und Religionen ausfüllt. Das OI ist auch mit mehreren Projekten im DTWJ aktiv.

"Ich freue mich sehr, mir vor Ort ein Bild von der Vielfalt der Deutsch-Türkischen Wissenschafts- und Bildungskooperation machen zu können", so Wankas Fazit zur Türkei-Reise. "Die Gespräche mit meinen Amtskollegen haben gezeigt, dass Bildung und Forschung für die deutsch-türkischen Beziehungen immer mehr an Bedeutung gewinnen."


Im Rahmen des Deutsch-Türkischen Wissenschaftsjahres unterstützt das PT-IB das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) bei der Vorbereitung und Organisation der Maßnahmen. Ein Höhepunkt dabei war die Reise der Bundesministerin in die Türkei am 28. April 2014, wo sie neben der offiziellen Eröffnung der Türkisch-Deutschen Universität (TDU) zahlreiche politische Termine wahrgenommen hat.