Technology transfer for sustainable, energy-efficient and earthquake-proof architecture in Ecuador (ATT)

The earthquake in Ecuador in April 2016 with about 30,000 destroyed apartments showed the need for earthquake-resistant construction. The ATT project sets out with its measures this need and is a step towards a sustainable, energy-efficient and earthquake-proof architecture in Ecuador.

Trainingswoche im Tischlern

Practical job training for students and lecturers of PUCE at the cross-company construction industry training centre in Brandenburg an der Havel as part of the ATT project in July 2016. © Walter Jahn

Objective of the funding project

Ecuador is currently experiencing high losses in revenues due to the drop in crude oil prices. As a result, the Ecuadorian government is now more interested in foreign investments than previously. In particular, it is advertising in the areas of the manufacturing industry, oil production, energy and water management, telecommunications and mining. The potentials are vast. Qualified expert workers and engineers are needed everywhere.

The construction industry is looking for architects and construction engineers trained in sustainable, energy-efficient and earthquake-proof planning and construction. Sadly, the earthquake in April 2016 clearly demonstrated this need: 30,000 apartments were destroyed completely.

This is the focus of the ATT project. The Technical University (TU) Berlin and the Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador (PUCE) have developed a technology transfer model aimed particularly at the construction economy and construction industry which is taking over the role of fast development aid. This is a small step on the path to sustainable, energy-efficient and earthquake-proof architecture in Ecuador.

Use of the results

The model which was developed with a focus on teaching and training comprises different implementation levels. It sets out further education measures in Ecuador for architects, engineers, students, administration employees and community citizens in order to broaden knowledge of new technologies and teach about their practical application. The planned courses could also be helpful for small to medium-sized enterprises to enable them to gain a stronger position on the market with innovative technologies.

Funding announcement
Funding of the scientific and technology collaboration (STC) with developing countries in the Asia-Pacific region and the Latin America and Caribbean region 2013

Partner region/country
Ecuador

Term
01.08.2014 – 30.11.2016

Partner institutions
TU Berlin, Institute for Architecture, Supporting Structure Design and Construction

Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador (PUCE), Faculty for Architecture

The construction of a training centre is the biggest step towards implementing the technology transfer model, which is to be created as a centre for sustainable architecture education and research in Quito. This joint project was confirmed in writing in a Memorandum of Understanding, which was signed by PUCE, TU Berlin, the Chamber of Architecture of Pichincha and the German-Ecuadorian Chamber of Industry and Commerce in April 2016.

Ecuadorian students and academics spend one week at the Berlin-Brandenburg construction industry training centre in July 2016 exploring what practical courses at the Centre for Education and Research for Sustainable Architecture could look like.

The aim was to train up to 15 PUCE students in construction industry crafts in Germany for 2-4 weeks each year and to provide them with practical skills until the Centre for Education and Research for Sustainable Architecture in Quito has been completed. This enables students to increase their practical skills competence and will help to ensure that more buildings in Ecuador will be planned and constructed as earthquake-proof in the medium and long term.

Added value of international cooperation

The ATT project links Europe with Latin America, Germany with Ecuador and TU Berlin with PUCE. On the one hand, a national network of universities multiplies the competences available; on the other hand, the project findings can become accessible to a wider group of people. Industry contacts are of key importance in the ATT project, in particular contacts with the Chamber of Foreign Trade. As such, the ATT project is also an example of “industry meeting industry”. Such direct contact reveals the demands of industry in relation to future employees.

PUCE is very much hoping to participate in an EU-funded project. As a result, the ATT project was also used to convey the requirements of a “Horizon 2020” project and to meet the national contact. The project partners are greatly welcoming the opportunity to introduce the ATT project results to a broad international audience on the occasion of the HABITAT III conference.

Outstanding results and successes of the measure

By signing the above-mentioned Memorandum of Understanding, the project partners have already taken concrete steps towards implementing the technology transfer model. In addition to measures supporting the course syllabus of the Chamber of Architects with talks by industry representatives and student training to provide practical skills, the implementation of the Centre for Education and Research for Sustainable Architecture in Ecuador is the most important measure. This would be the first centre of its kind in Ecuador as well as Latin America and as such would act as a pilot centre. And of course, as a pilot building, the building itself would be planned and constructed as a sustainable, energy-efficient and earthquake-proof building. However, full financing has not currently been secured.

DLR Project Management Agency | European and International Cooperation
Inge Lamberz de Bayas
phone: +49 228 3821-1436

Technical University Berlin
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Rückert
phone: +49 30 314 218 51

Technologietransfer für eine nachhaltige, energieeffiziente und erdbebensichere Architektur in Ecuador (ATT)

Das Erdbeben im April 2016 in Ecuador zeigte mit rund 30.000 zerstörten Wohnungen die Notwenigkeit von erdbebensicherem Bauen auf. Das ATT-Projekt setzt mit seinen Maßnahmen genau dort an und ist ein Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen, energieeffizienten und erdbebensicheren Architektur in Ecuador.

Trainingswoche im Tischlern

Berufspraktisches Training der Studenten und Dozenten der PUCE im Überbetrieblichen Ausbildungszentrum der Bauwirtschaft in Brandenburg an der Havel im Rahmen des ATT-Projekts im Juli 2016. © Walter Jahn

Ziel des Fördervorhabens

Ecuador hat aktuell große Verluste in den Einnahmen durch den Verfall des Erdölpreises zu verzeichnen. Deshalb ist die ecuadorianische Regierung stärker als zuvor an ausländischen Investitionen interessiert. Sie wirbt besonders in den Bereichen Industrie, Ölförderung, Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft, Telekommunikation sowie Bergbau. Die Potenziale sind enorm. Überall werden qualifizierte Facharbeiter und Ingenieure benötigt.

Auch in der Bauwirtschaft werden Architekten und Bauingenieure gesucht, die das nachhaltige, energieeffiziente und erdbebensichere Planen und Bauen beherrschen. Das Erdbeben im April 2016 zeigte leider eindrucksvoll diese Notwendigkeit: 30.000 Wohnungen waren komplett zerstört.

Hier setzt das Projekt ATT an. Die TU Berlin und die Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador (PUCE) haben ein Modell für den Technologietransfer speziell in der Bauwirtschaft und Bauindustrie entwickelt, der die Rolle als schnelle Entwicklungshilfe übernimmt. Das ist ein kleiner Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen, energieeffizienten und erdbebensicheren Architektur in Ecuador.

Einsatz der Ergebnisse

Das entwickelte Modell mit Schwerpunkt Schulung und Training hat verschiedene Implementierungsstufen. Vorgesehen sind Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen in Ecuador für Architekten, Ingenieure, Studierende, Mitarbeiter von Verwaltungen und Bürger der Communities, um neue Technologien bekannt zu machen und deren praktische Anwendung zu vermitteln. Auch für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen können die vorgesehenen Kurse hilfreich sein, damit sie sich mit innovativen Technologien besser am Markt behaupten können.

Förderbekanntmachung
Förderung der wissenschaftlich-
technologische Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) mit Entwicklungsländern des Asiatisch-Pazifischen Raums und der Region Lateinamerika und Karibik 2013

Partnerregion/-land
Ecuador

Laufzeit
01.08.2014 – 30.11.2016

Partnereinrichtungen
TU Berlin, Institut für Architektur, Tragwerksentwurf und -konstruktion

Pontifical Catholic University of Ecuador (PUCE), Fakultät für Architektur

Die große Etappe der Implementierung des Modells für den Technologietransfer ist der Bau eines Trainingszentrums, das als Zentrum für Bildung und Forschung der nachhaltigen Architektur in Quito entstehen soll. Mit einem Memorandum of Understanding, unterzeichnet von der PUCE, der TU Berlin, der Architektenkammer Pichincha und der deutsch-ecuadorianischen Industrie- und Handelskammer im April 2016 wurde dieses gemeinsame Ziel fixiert.

Wie die praktischen Kurse am Zentrum für Bildung und Forschung der nachhaltigen Architektur aussehen könnten, testeten ecuadorianische Studenten und Akademiker für eine Woche im Juli 2016 im Ausbildungszentrum der Bauindustrie Berlin-Brandenburgs.

Das Ziel ist, jedes Jahr bis zu 15 Studenten der PUCE in Deutschland für zwei bis vier Wochen in Gewerken der Bauwirtschaft zu trainieren und ihre praktischen Fertigkeiten zu schulen, bis das Zentrum für Bildung und Forschung der nachhaltigen Architektur in Quito existiert. So kann die Kompetenz der Studenten in ihren praktischen Fertigkeiten erhöht werden und wird dazu beitragen, dass mittel- und langfristig mehr Gebäude in Ecuador erdbebensicher geplant und gebaut werden.

Mehrwert der internationalen Zusammenarbeit

Das ATT-Projekt verbindet Europa mit Lateinamerika, Deutschland mit Ecuador und die TU Berlin mit der PUCE. Zum einen vervielfältigen sich durch ein nationales Netzwerk der Universitäten die zur Verfügung stehenden Kompetenzen; zum anderen können Projekterkenntnisse einem breiteren Zirkel zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Große Bedeutung hat im ATT-Projekt der Kontakt zur Wirtschaft, konkret zur Außenhandelskammer (AHK). Somit ist das ATT-Projekt auch ein Beispiel für „Wissenschaft trifft Wirtschaft“. Durch diesen direkten Kontakt werden die Ansprüche, die Wirtschaft an künftiges Personal hat, verdeutlicht.

Der große Wunsch der PUCE ist die Teilnahme an einem EU-geförderten Projekt. Das ATT-Projekt wurde deshalb auch genutzt, um die Anforderungen eines „Horizont 2020“-Projekts zu vermitteln und die nationale Kontaktstelle kennenzulernen. Die Chance, die ATT-Projektergebnisse einem breiten internationalen Publikum anlässlich der HABITAT III-Konferenz vorzustellen, ist für die Projektpartner sehr willkommen.

Besondere Ergebnisse und Erfolge der Maßnahme

Mit dem bereits genannten Memorandum of Understanding haben die Projektpartner konkrete Schritte zur Umsetzung des Modells für den Technologietransfer vereinbart. Neben Maßnahmen, das Kursprogramm der Architektenkammer durch Vorträge von Vertretern der Industrie und die Ausbildung der Studenten durch das Erlernen von praktischen Fertigkeiten zu unterstützen, ist die Realisierung des Zentrums für Bildung und Forschung der nachhaltigen Architektur in Ecuador die wichtigste Maßnahme. Es wäre das erste Zentrum dieser Art in Ecuador und Lateinamerika und trägt Pilotcharakter. Dieses Gebäude würde als Pilotgebäude natürlich als nachhaltiges, energieeffizientes und erdbebensicheres Gebäude geplant und gebaut werden. Offen ist derzeit jedoch noch die komplette Finanzierung.

DLR Projektträger | Europäische und internationale Zusammenarbeit
Inge Lamberz de Bayas
Tel.: +49 228 3821-1436

TU Berlin
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Rückert
Tel.: +49 30 314 218 51