Evaluation of the microbial quality of herbs, sprouts and seeds

The German public were shocked by the outbreak of EHEC in 2011. At that time, Fenugreek seed, which was imported from Egypt, was identified as the source of infection. In this research project, scientists from Germany and Egypt investigated the occurrence of potentially pathogenic organisms on seeds, sprouts and herbs and which measures could be used for an effective suppression.

Natürlich vorkommende Bakterien an Petersilie.

Naturally occurring bacteria on parsley. © A. Scherwinski

Project objective

This research project was developed against the background of the 2011 outbreak of enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC) in Germany which brought the microbial colonization of seeds, shoots and vegetables to public attention. At the time, epidemiological studies traced the source of the infection to Fenugreek seed imported from Egypt.

For this reason, the joint project was proposed and implemented in cooperation with the University of Cairo. The objective was to evaluate the microbial quality of herbs, sprouts and seeds and to provide recommendations for the production and management to reduce risks in plant production. The research project SproutMOs aimed to answer the following questions:

  1. Can potentially pathogenic organisms (E. coli, Salmonella spp.) be found naturally on seeds, sprouts and herbs produced in keeping with the guidelines for good agricultural practice in the field in Egypt and in greenhouses in Germany?
  2. Which measures suppress pathogenic organisms efficiently?

Use of the results

Funding announcement
Funding of joint innovative projects in the area of applied research by the German-Egyptian Research Fund (GERF)

Partner region/country
Egypt

Term
01.08.2014 – 31.07.2016

Partner institutions

Leibniz Institute of Vegetable and Ornamental Crops (IGZ)

University of Cairo, Faculty of Agricultural Sciences

EVONTA Service GmbH, Radeberg

The project results show that no potentially pathogenic Escherichia coli and Salmonella strains were found on the 8 plant species tested, irrespective of whether they had been produced in Egypt or Germany. These results have been published in scientific journals and used in trainings for consultants. The possibilities to reduce the germ infestation of seeds before sprout production shown in initial experiments need to be validated in further pilot studies before issuing practical recommendations.

The project findings contribute to assessing the food safety of freshly consumed salads, herbs and sprouts.

Added value of international cooperation

Our longstanding scientific cooperation with the faculty of agricultural sciences in Cairo on bacteria-plant interaction provided the basis for the risk assessment of plants produced in Egypt and Germany carried out within in the framework of the SproutMOs project. Plant and environmental samples from two production sites in Egypt and plant samples from German greenhouse cultivation could be analyzed and assessed collaboratively according to jointly validated, identical methods in both Cairo and Großbeeren. In addition to the knowledge gained, we were able to set up a molecular biology laboratory (Joint IGZ-GIZA Lab) at the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences in Cairo thanks to additional funding from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the German Academic Exchange Service, conduct first student training courses at the IGZ and in Cairo, and ensure three bachelor and master student placements in Germany.

Outstanding results and successes of the measure

Trainingskurs für Studenten an der Universität Kairo.

Training course for students at the University of Cairo.
© N. Hegazi

It was proven for the first time that it is very unlikely to find potentially pathogenic Escherichia coli and Salmonella strains occurring naturally on plants. Even after taking pre-enrichment steps and applying cultivation-independent methods (multiplex qPCR, 16S rDNA sequencing, metagenome sequencing), the target organisms were not detectable if the plants had been produced according to the guidelines of good agricultural practice and if no organisms had been introduced by external sources of infection.

In cooperation with the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment in Berlin, the detection methods were validated on plant material and, as a final step, environmental microorganisms were serotyped. The e-ventus method for the decontamination of seeds that had been artificially infected with bacteria was tested in collaboration with EVONTA-service GmbH. Three scientific publications were published, eight lectures and posters contributed at scientific conferences, one dissertation and two Bachelor theses completed. In addition, two student training courses were conducted, with 16 and 18 participants each.

DLR Project Management Agency | European and international Cooperation
Susanne Ruppert-Elias
phone: +49 228 3821-1487

Leibniz Institute of Vegetable and Ornamental Crops
PD Dr. Silke Ruppel
phone: +49 33701 78337

Bewertung der mikrobiellen Qualität von Kräutern, Sprossen und Samen

Der EHEC-Ausbruch schockierte im Jahr 2011 ganz Deutschland. Als Ursache der Epidemie wurde damals aus Ägypten importierter Bockshornklee identifiziert. Im Forschungsprojekt "SproutMOs" untersuchten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland und Ägypten, welche potentiell krankmachenden Organismen an Samen, Sprossen und Kräutern natürlich vorkommen und mit welchen Maßnahmen sie sich effizient unterdrücken lassen.

Natürlich vorkommende Bakterien an Petersilie.

Natürlich vorkommende Bakterien an Petersilie. © A. Scherwinski

Ziel des Fördervorhabens

Hintergrund der Forschungsarbeiten war der enterohämorrhagische Escherichia-coli-(EHEC)-Ausbruch in Deutschland im Jahr 2011, der die mikrobielle Besiedlung von Samen, Sprossen und Gemüse in die öffentliche Wahrnehmung rückte. Damals wurde aufgrund von epidemiologischen Analysen die Infektionsquelle auf Saatgut von Bockshornklee zurückgeführt, das aus Ägypten importiert wurde.

Daher wurde das Verbundprojekt gemeinsam mit der Universität Kairo beantragt und durchgeführt. Im Ergebnis sollte die mikrobielle Qualität von Kräutern, Sprossen und Samen bewertet und Produktions- und Managementempfehlungen formuliert werden, die zu einer Risikominimierung im Pflanzenbau führen können. Das Forschungsprojekt SproutMOs hatte zum Ziel, folgende Fragen zu klären:

  1. Kommen potenziell krankmachende Organismen (E. coli, Salmonella spp.) natürlich an Samen, Sprossen und Kräutern vor, die unter praxisnahen – guter landwirtschaftlicher Praxis folgenden Richtlinien – auf dem Feld in Ägypten und im Gewächshaus in Deutschland produziert wurden?
  2. Welche Maßnahmen führen effizient zu einer Unterdrückung krankmachender Organismen?

Einsatz der Ergebnisse

Förderbekanntmachung
Förderung gemeinsamer innovativer Projekte im Bereich der angewandten Forschung durch Deutsch-Ägyptischen Forschungsfonds (GERF)

Partnerregion/-land
Ägypten

Laufzeit
01.08.2014 – 31.07.2016

Partnereinrichtungen
Leibniz-Institut für Gemüse- und Zierpflanzenbau (IGZ)

Universität Kairo, Agrarwissenschaftliche Fakultät

EVONTA Service GmbH, Radeberg

Die Ergebnisse des Projektes belegen, dass potenziell krankmachende Escherichia-coli- und Salmonella-Stämme nicht auf den 8 von uns getesteten Pflanzenarten vorkamen, weder wenn sie in Ägypten noch in Deutschland produziert wurden. Diese Ergebnisse wurden/werden sowohl in wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriften publiziert als auch in Beraterschulungen für die Praxis bereitgestellt. Die in ersten Experimenten gezeigten Möglichkeiten zur Keimreduktion an Saatgut, die vor einer Sprossenproduktion durchgeführt werden könnten, müssen in weiteren Pilotstudien vor einer Praxisempfehlung validiert werden.

Die Erkenntnisse tragen zur Bewertung der Lebensmittelsicherheit frisch verzehrter Salate, Kräuter und Sprossen bei.

Mehrwert der internationalen Zusammenarbeit

Unsere über viele Jahre bestehende wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit der agrarwissenschaftlichen Fakultät in Kairo auf dem Gebiet der Bakterien-Pflanzen-Interaktion bildete die Grundlage für diese im SproutMOs-Projekt durchgeführte Risikobewertung von Pflanzen, die sowohl in Ägypten als auch in Deutschland produziert wurden. In Ägypten an zwei Standorten gesammelte Pflanzen- und Umweltproben aus Feldproduktion und Pflanzenproben aus deutschem Gewächshausanbau konnten mit gemeinsam validierten, identischen Methoden in Kairo und in Großbeeren analysiert und gemeinsam bewertet werden. Neben dem erzielten Erkenntnisgewinn konnten wir über zusätzlich eingeworbene Mittel der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung und des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes ein molekularbiologisches Labor (Joint IGZ-GIZA Lab) in der agrarwissenschaftlichen Fakultät in Kairo einrichten, erste Studenten-Trainingskurse im IGZ und in Kairo durchführen und drei Bachelor- und Master-Studentenpraktika in Deutschland gewährleisten.

Besondere Ergebnisse und Erfolge der Maßnahme

Trainingskurs für Studenten an der Universität Kairo.

Trainingskurs für Studenten an der Universität Kairo.
© N. Hegazi

Es wurde erstmals belegt, dass mit sehr hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit keine potenziell krankmachende Escherichia-coli- und Salmonella-Stämme pflanzenbürtig vorkommen. Auch nach Voranreicherungsschritten und der Anwendung kultivierungs-unabhängiger Methoden (multiplex qPCR, 16S-rDNA-Sequenzierung, Metagenomsequenzierung) waren die Zielorganismen nicht nachweisbar, wenn die Pflanzen nach den Richtlinien der guten landwirtschaftlichen Praxis produziert wurden und keine Organismen über externe Infektionsquellen zugefügt wurden.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung in Berlin wurden die Nachweismethoden an Pflanzenmaterial validiert und im finalen Schritt Umweltisolate serotypisiert. Mit der Firma EVONTA-service GmbH wurde das e-ventus-Verfahren zur Dekontamination von Saatgut getestet, das künstlich mit Bakterien infiziert wurde. Es wurden drei wissenschaftliche Publikationen veröffentlicht, acht Beiträge (Vorträge und Poster) auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen publiziert, eine Dissertation und zwei Bachelorarbeiten angefertigt. Außerdem wurden zwei Studenten-Trainingskurse durchgeführt, mit jeweils 16 und 18 Teilnehmern.

DLR Projektträger | Europäische und internationale Zusammenarbeit
Susanne Ruppert-Elias
Tel.: +49 228 3821-1487

Leibniz-Institut für Gemüse- und Zierpflanzenbau
PD Dr. Silke Ruppel
Tel.: +49 33701 78337