First "Turkey Autumn" in Cologne

Lord Mayor Roters opens "Turkey Week" with University Chancellor Dr. Stückradt and Herrn Metzger of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Logo - Brücke mit Symbolen

The first "Turkey Autumn" brings a multitude of events in the areas of economics, science and culture to Cologne. This program aims to make a contribution to an exchange and to deepening German-Turkish relationships.

The twinning association Cologne-Istanbul is taking part with, among other things, a versatile program ranging from a cabaret evening to a presentation about the political situation in Turkey after the last presidential elections. The Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum features a lyrical and musical journey of the artist Monika von Starck as well as the musicians Tuna Ufuk Sagay and Hüseyin Mehmetoglu under the title "One Week in Istanbul".

Impressions from the Science Slam

The Universität of Cologne organises several events within the
"Turkey Autumn" - © IB-PT

As a highlight of the "Turkey Autumn", the University of Cologne is organising the "Turkey Week", which Lord Mayor Jürgen Roters opened at 6 pm on Friday, November 7, 2014, together with the Chancellor of the University, Dr. Michael Stückradt and the head of the "International Affairs" department in the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Mr. Metzger in the historic City Hall. The "Turkey Week" started with a Science Slam, which the Federal Minister for Research and Education initiated in the context of the German-Turkish Year of Science. Six young German and Turkish scientists presented short, entertaining lectures on research themes. The audience then evaluated the presentations.

Until November 14, 2014, "Turkey Week" will introduce the great potential of the university cooperation between both countries to a large audience, in line with the "German-Turkish Year of Research, Education and Innovation 2014". The University of Cologne is cooperating with Turkish universities in many ways. For the realisation of "Turkey Week", she is receiving funding from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The program includes information about studying in Turkey, musical presentations by well-known artists, presentations on the history of Turkey and a series of documentaries about six successful Turkish authors.

Further information can be obtained here.

Erster „Türkei-Herbst“ in Köln

Oberbürgermeister Roters eröffnet „Türkei-Woche“ mit Uni-Kanzler Dr. Stückradt und Herrn Metzger aus dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Logo DTWJ

Der erste "Türkei-Herbst" bringt eine Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen im Bereich Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Kultur nach Köln. Mit diesem Programm soll ein Beitrag zum Austausch und zur Vertiefung der deutsch-türkischen Beziehungen geleistet werden.

Der Städtepartnerschaftsverein Köln-Istanbul beteiligt sich unter anderem mit einem vielseitigen Programm vom Kabarett-Abend bis hin zu einem Vortrag über die politische Situation in der Türkei nach den letzten Präsidentschaftswahlen. Im Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum wird eine lyrische und musikalische Reise der Künstlerin Monika von Starck sowie den Musikern Tuna Ufuk Sagay und Hüseyin Mehmetoglu unter dem Titel "Eine Woche in Istanbul" geboten.

Impression vom Science Slam im Rahmen des DTWJ

Die Universität zu Köln organisiert verschiedene Veranstaltungen
im Rahmen des "Türkei-Herbstes" © IB-PT

Als Höhepunkt des "Türkei-Herbst" organisiert die Universität zu Köln die "Türkei-Woche", die Oberbürgermeister Jürgen Roters am Freitag, 7. November 2014, um 18 Uhr gemeinsam mit dem Kanzler der Universität, Dr. Michael Stückradt und dem Leiter der Unterabteilung „Internationales“ im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Herrn Metzger im Historischen Rathaus eröffnete. Die "Türkei-Woche" startete mit einem Science-Slam, den das Bundesministerium für Forschung und Bildung im Rahmen des Deutsch-Türkischen Wissenschaftsjahres initiiert hat. Sechs deutsche und türkische Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler präsentierten in kurzen, unterhaltsamen Vorträgen Themen aus der Forschung. Das Publikum bewertete anschließend die Auftritte.

Bis zum 14. November 2014 wird die "Türkei-Woche" passend zum "Deutsch-Türkischen Jahr der Forschung, Bildung und Innovation 2014" das große Potenzial der Hochschulkooperationen zwischen beiden Ländern einem großen Publikum vorstellen. Die Universität zu Köln kooperiert in vielfältiger Weise mit türkischen Hochschulen. Für die Durchführung der "Türkei-Woche" erhält sie eine Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung. Das Programm beinhaltet beispielsweise Informationen zum Studium in der Türkei, musikalische Darbietungen von bekannten Künstlern, Vorträge zur Geschichte der Türkei und eine Dokumentarfilmreihe über sechs türkische Erfolgsautoren. Bei der Koordination und Kommunikation der Internationalen Wissenschaftsjahre unterstützt das Internationale Büro im DLR Projektträger das BMBF.

Weitere Informationen unter: http://tuerkeiherbst.uni-koeln.de/