EURAXESS Worldwide (formerly called EURAXESS Links)

Since January 2013 the DLR Project Management Agency (DLR-PT) has been entrusted with the coordination of the EURAXESS Worldwide initiative by the European Commission. EURAXESS Worldwide – one of the pillars of the ERA-initiative EURAXESS – connects European researchers abroad as well as non-European researchers interested in a career in the EU.

EURAXESS-Logo

Due to the positive development of the project in the project phase 2013 to 2015, the European Commission has contracted DLR-PT to coordinate the EURAXESS Worldwide initiative once again in the current phase, 2016 to 2019.

Background information

EURAXESS Worldwide is a networking tool for European researchers working outside Europe and non-European researchers wishing to pursue a research career or collaborate with partners in Europe. It has thus far been launched in Japan, China and India, as well as in ASEAN (with focus on Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Vietnam) and North America (encompassing the USA and Canada). As of March 2017, the Brazil network was expanded to also cater to researchers in Latin America and the Caribbean (short: EURAXESS LAC). A new EURAXESS Worldwide network will be launched in South Korea in July 2018.

Change of name

As of November 2016, the European Commission has renamed the EURAXESS Links initiative to EURAXESS Worldwide in line with the new EURAXESS portal launched in mid-November 2016.

EURAXESS Worldwide provides information about research in Europe, European research policy, opportunities for research funding, for international collaboration and for individual trans-national mobility.

Objective

The objective of EURAXESS Worldwide is to maintain the link of Europe with European and non-European researchers, scientists and scholars abroad thus rendering them an important resource for European research and for stimulating scientific cooperation between Europe and the third-countries where they live and work.

The multidisciplinary network involves researchers at all stages of their careers and allows them to become well connected amongst themselves and with Europe, ensuring that they are recognized as an important resource for the European Research Area, whether they remain abroad or choose to return. Through the success of the network, EURAXESS Worldwide is intended to contribute to the improvement of Europe's position in the global competition for talent, and the reinforcement of research collaboration.

EURAXESS Worldwide Network

The EURAXESS Worldwide Network is built up and maintained by EURAXESS Country and Regional Representatives within the following countries and regions:

  • ASEAN1) 
    As for now, the regional network encompasses Singapore, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia and Vietnam; more countries of the ASEAN are expected to join over the next years.
  • LAC2) 
    The Brazil network was launched in May 2013 and expanded to all of Latin America and the Caribbean in March 2017.
  • China
  • India
  • Japan
  • North America (USA and Canada)
  • South Korea (from July 2018)

1) ASEAN stands for “Association of South-East Asian Nations”

 2) LAC stands for “Latin America and the Caribbean”

EURAXESS Worldwide (früher EURAXESS Links)

Seit Januar 2013 koordiniert der DLR Projektträger (DLR-PT) das EURAXESS Worldwide-Projekt im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission. EURAXESS Worldwide – ein Baustein der EFR-Initiative EURAXESS – vernetzt europäische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler im Ausland sowie nicht-europäische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die eine Karriere in Europa anstreben.

EURAXESS-Logo

Auf Grund der positiven Entwicklung des Projekts in der Projektphase 2013 - 2015 hat die Europäische Kommission den DLR Projektträger erneut beauftragt, das Projekt bis 2019 weiter zu koordinieren.

Hintergrund

EURAXESS Worldwide ist ein Netzwerkinstrument für europäische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler außerhalb Europas (Schwerpunkt Asien und Amerika) sowie nicht-europäische Wissenschaftler der jeweiligen Länder/Regionen, die an einer Forschungskarriere in Europa interessiert sind. Bislang wurde EURAXESS Worldwide in China, Indien und Japan sowie in Südostasien (ASEAN-Staaten mit Fokus auf Singapur, Thailand, Indonesien, Malaysia und Vietnam) und Nordamerika (die USA und Kanada) gestartet. Seit März 2017 wurde das EURAXESS Netzwerk in Brasilien auf Lateinamerika und die Karibischen Staaten (CELAC) erweitert.

Aus EURAXESS Links wird EURAXESS Worldwide

Seit November 2016 hat die Europäische Kommission die Initiative EURAXESS Links offiziell in EURAXESS Worldwide umbenannt im Zuge des Launch des neuen EURAXESS-Portals Mitte November 2016.

EURAXESS Worldwide bietet Informationen über Forschung in Europa, europäische Forschungspolitik, Möglichkeiten der Forschungsförderung in Europa sowie der internationalen Kollaboration und individuellen, trans-nationalen Mobilität.

Ziele

Ziel von EURAXESS Worldwide ist es, die Verbindung zwischen Europa und europäischen sowie nicht-europäischen Forschenden und Wissenschaftlern aller Disziplinen im Ausland herzustellen und zu wahren. Auf diese Weise sollen sie zu einer wichtigen Ressource für die europäische Forschung werden, sowie wissenschaftliche Kooperation zwischen Europa und den Drittländern, in denen sie tätig sind, anregen.

Das multi-disziplinäre Netzwerk richtet sich an Forschende auf allen Stufen ihrer Karriere und erlaubt es ihnen, sich untereinander und mit Europa gut zu vernetzten. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass sie als wichtiges Potenzial für den Europäische Forschungsraum anerkannt werden – ob sie sich für eine Laufbahn in der EU entscheiden und zurückkehren oder im Ausland bleiben. Durch den Erfolg des Netzwerkes soll EURAXESS Worldwide zur Verbesserung von Europas Position im weltweiten Wettbewerb um Talent sowie zur Verstärkung von Forschungskollaboration beitragen.

EURAXESS Worldwide Netzwerk

Das EURAXESS Worldwide Netzwerk wird in folgenden Ländern von EURAXESS Country bzw. Regional Representatives gepflegt und aufgebaut:

  • ASEAN1)  (derzeitige Schwerpunktländer: Singapur, Indonesien, Malaysia, Thailand und Vietnam)
  • CELAC2)  (das Netzwerk in Brasilien wurde im Mai 2013 gegründet und im März 2017 auf Lateinamerika und die Karibischen Staaten erweitert)
  • China
  • Indien
  • Japan
  • Nordamerika (USA und Kanada)

 

1) ASEAN steht für „Association of South-East Asian Nations (dt. Verband Südostasiatischer Nationen)“.

2) CELAC steht für “Comunidad de Estados Latinoamericanos y Caribeños (dt. Gemeinschaft der Lateinamerikanischen und Karibischen Staaten)“.