HOTWIN – New high-temperature materials for extreme conditions

Gas turbines for energy generations and aeroplane engines are subjected to extreme thermal and mechanical impacts and as such require special high-temperature materials. How can these important materials be improved?

A doctoral student is preparing powder mixtures of high-temperature materials

A doctoral student of Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg prepares the powder mixtures for the production of new high-temperature materials. © S. Berger/OVGU

The German-Ukrainian project HOTWIN, which was completed at the end of November 2015, focused on developing new kinds of materials intended for the mentioned applications and for other uses. At the moment, nickel-based superalloys are normally used, which can withstand maximum application temperatures of around 1100°C. Applications at even higher temperatures become possible by using high-melting-point metals, so-called refractory metals.

Target: enable use at higher temperatures

The project, which ran for two years, was aimed at manufacturing such refractory metals, such as molybdenum, wolfram and chromium, directly in only one process step using inter-metal or ceramic strengthening elements based on a mixture of elementary powders in the zone-melting process. This process influenced the size and distribution of the material components in a targeted manner based on manufacturing parameters.

The successfully manufactured new materials will make a contribution to increasing efficiency and as such to more economic operations of technical aggregates, e.g. of gas turbines for energy generation and aeroplane engines. This means that more options will be available in future in terms of various technical high-temperature applications.

Ukrainian-German cooperation

The new high-temperature materials were developed in a German-Ukrainian cooperation. The cooperation was characterised by the complementary expertise of the project partners: The Ukrainian partner provided a zone melting oven designed specifically for such high-melting-point materials, which made it possible to manufacture the material compositions envisaged by the German partner. The German partner contributed its expertise by outlining the relationship between the microstructure and the mechanical properties at high temperatures up to 1400°C. The intensive involvement of young scientists from the two partner institutions offered particular added value.

Special results and successes of the measure

The no-cup zone melting method used is excellently suited to the manufacture of high-temperature materials because reactions with the smelter can be excluded at melting temperatures above 2000°C and the materials created can be kept free from impurities. The extremely pure materials created are highly stable and reliably solid at temperatures up to 1400° C.

The bilateral project laid the scientific foundations for the efficient manufacture of high-temperature materials with strengthening structures. The technical results add high-performance, high-temperature-resistant alloys to the known range of materials.

Find out more on the projekt-webseite.

Contact:

Dr Thomas Reineke
DLR Project Management Agency | International Bureau
Tel: +49 228 3821 1448
thomas.reineke@dlr.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manja Krüger
Magdeburg University, Institute for Material and Joining Technology
Tel: +49 391 67 14516
manja.krueger@ovgu.de

HOTWIN – Neue Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe für extreme Bedingungen

Gasturbinen zur Energiegewinnung und Flugzeugtriebwerke sind extremen thermischen und mechanischen Belastungen ausgesetzt, die spezielle Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe erfordern. Wie können diese entscheidenden Werkstoffe verbessert werden?

Eine Doktorandin bereitet Pulvermischungen der Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe vor

Eine Doktorandin der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg bereitet die Pulvermischungen für die Herstellung neuer Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe vor. © S. Berger/OVGU

Das Ende November 2015 abgeschlossene deutsch-ukrainische Vorhaben HOTWIN hat für die Anwendung in den genannten und weiteren Bereichen neuartige Werkstoffe entwickelt. Üblicherweise kommen hier derzeit Nickelbasis-Superlegierungen mit maximalen Anwendungstemperaturen von etwa 1100°C zum Einsatz. Anwendungen bei noch höheren Temperaturen werden möglich über die Substitution durch höchstschmelzende metallische Werkstoffe, die sogenannten Refraktärmetalle.

Ziel: den Einsatz in höheren Temperaturbereichen ermöglichen

Das Vorhaben mit einer Laufzeit von zwei Jahren verfolgte den Ansatz, derartige Refraktärmetalle wie Molybdän, Wolfram und Chrom mit intermetallischen oder keramischen Verstärkungselementen in nur einem Prozessschritt direkt aus einer Mischung elementarer Pulver mithilfe des Zonenschmelzverfahrens herzustellen. Bei diesem Prozess werden die Größe und die Verteilung der Werkstoffbestandteile gezielt durch die Herstellungsparameter beeinflusst.

Die erfolgreich hergestellten neuartigen Werkstoffe werden einen Beitrag zur Wirkungsgradsteigerung und somit zum ökonomischeren Betrieb von technischen Aggregaten, z. B. von Gasturbinen zur Energiegewinnung und Flugzeugtriebwerken, leisten. Dadurch stehen zukünftig breitere Auswahlmöglichkeiten für diverse technische Hochtemperaturanwendungen zur Verfügung.

Ukrainisch-deutsche Zusammenarbeit

Die Entwicklung der neuen Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe erfolgte in einer deutsch-ukrainischen Kooperation. Die Zusammenarbeit zeichnete sich dabei durch das komplementäre Know-how der Projektpartner aus: Der ukrainische Partner stellte einen speziell für derart hochschmelzende Werkstoffe konstruierten Zonenschmelzofen zur Verfügung, der die Herstellung der beim deutschen Partner konzipierten Werkstoffzusammensetzungen ermöglichte. Der deutsche Partner brachte seine Expertise zur Aufklärung der Zusammenhänge zwischen der Mikrostruktur und den mechanischen Eigenschaften bei hohen Temperaturen bis zu 1400°C ein. Ein besonderer Mehrwert lag in der intensiven Einbeziehung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern aus beiden Partnereinrichtungen.

Besondere Ergebnisse und Erfolge der Maßnahme

Die hierzu genutzte Methodik des tiegelfreien Zonenschmelzens eignet sich hervorragend für die Herstellung von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen, weil eventuelle Reaktionen mit dem Schmelztiegel bei Schmelztemperaturen oberhalb von 2000°C ausgeschlossen und somit Verunreinigungen der entstehenden Werkstoffe vermieden werden. Die entstehenden hochreinen Werkstoffe sind äußerst stabil und weisen hervorragende Festigkeiten bei Temperaturen bis zu 1400°C auf.

Mit dem bilateralen Vorhaben wurden die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für die effiziente Herstellung von Hochtemperaturwerkstoffen mit verstärkenden Strukturen gelegt. Mithilfe der technischen Ergebnisse wird die bekannte Werkstoffpalette um neue leistungsfähige und hochtemperatur-feste Legierungen erweitert.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Projekt-Webseite.

Ansprechpartner/in:

Dr Erich Rathske
DLR Projektträger | Internationales Büro
Tel: +49 228 3821 1464
Erich.Rathske@dlr.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manja Krüger
Universität Magdeburg, Institut für Werkstoff- und Fügetechnik
Tel: +49 391 67 14516
manja.krueger@ovgu.de