Ukraine

The cooperation between Germany and Ukraine in the fields of science, technology and innovation as well as education has a long tradition.  The cooperation has additional significance due to the recent political developments and the special role of Ukraine in the context of the neighbourhood policy of the European Union.

Flag of the Ukraine

Funding the cooperation

In principle, subsidies can be granted for measures listed in the current announcements  as part of the bilateral cooperation in research and education between Germany and Ukraine.

Political framework

The main basis for the cooperation is the “Joint declaration of the Federal Ministry of Research and Technology of the Federal Republic of Germany and the State Committee for Science and Technology of Ukraine on scientific and technological relations”, which was signed in 1993. The partner ministry of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is Ukraine’s Ministry of Education and Science. The 10th conference of the joint German-Ukrainian STC working group took place in Kiev in June 2014.

In addition, cooperations took place between German and Ukrainian institutions in the context of the Eastern Partnership in the EU neighbourhood policy and in an international context. This cooperation between the EU and Ukraine in the fields of science and technology was based on a treaty from July 2002, which was renewed in July 2015. Particularly the willingness of Ukraine to become more involved in the European Research Area (ERA), such as through its association with the EU programme Horizon2020, also opened up new perspectives for Germany in terms of intensifying the research cooperation with this target country.

Priorities of the cooperation

The main priorities of the bilateral cooperation in terms of content are in the fields of

  • Biotechnology,
  • Nanotechnology, new materials and production technology,
  • Health research and medical technology,
  • Technologies for the effective use of resources and energy, sustainable environmental technology.

On the German side, the cooperation partners are primarily universities and the institutions of the Fraunhofer Association, the Helmholtz Foundation, the Max-Planck Foundation and the Leibniz Foundation; the Ukrainian partners are primarily the institutes of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine as well as universities.

A special contact for research cooperations, who is managed by the DLR Project Management Agency, International Bureau, works in Kiev to support the cooperation with Ukraine for the BMBF. He collects and evaluates information on scientific and innovation potential and current developments in Ukraine, maintains contacts relating to the cooperation with German and Ukrainian contacts and partners at the authorities and research institutions on site, advises German actors and helps to realise bilateral activities in Ukraine.

Highlights of the bilateral cooperation

In the context of the Federal Government’s Ukraine Action Plan, the BMBF together with German scientific and agent organisations initiates and manages needs-oriented measures in different target areas in Ukraine, such as to internationalise universities and research institutions, increase the research performance of universities, and restructure the National Academy of Sciences in Ukraine. In this context, the following bilateral events took place recently:

  • Forum on current challenges in education, science and innovation at universities with the Ukraine’s Ministry of Education and Science and the National Taras-Schewtschenko University Kiev as the main event organiser on the Ukrainian side (March 2015, Kiev)
  • Workshop on evaluation methods with the National Academy of Sciences for Ukraine (March 2015, Kiev)
  • Conference on German-Ukrainian experiences during the Europeanisation of Ukrainian law education at the Faculty of Law at the National Taras-Schewtschenko University Kiev (November 2014, Kiev)

The mentioned events were co-implemented and financially supported by the BMBF, while the International Bureau at the DLR Project Management Agency provided content and organisation. Follow-up activities are being planned.

In addition, several projects of the German-Ukrainian science and technology cooperation are co-financed by the BMBF. They are based on announcements agreed with the Ukrainian side and are technically and administratively managed by the International Bureau at the DLR Project Management Agency.

  • One such project from the field of regenerative medicine e.g. utilises the complementary knowledge of German and Ukrainian biologists, stem cell researchers and physicians to improve the process steps in order to lower the costs of storing stem cells. 
  • Another German-Ukrainian cooperation project contributes to the development of a new class of cancer drugs to develop new cancer treatment strategies.

Cooperation in the context of the EU / Multilateral cooperation

In the EU context, the bilateral cooperation with Ukraine designed by the BMBF is supplemented by a number of EU projects, in which the DLR Project Management Agency (through the International Bureau) is currently participating or has participated since 2015:

  • EaP PLUS (2016-2019) fosters political dialogue between the countries of the EU and the Eastern Partnership in the areas of research and development and facilitates access to the European Research Area for researchers in the region.
  • RI-LINKS2UA (2016-2019) The overall aim of the project entitled 'Strengthening Research and Innovation Links towards Ukraine' was to further support and enhance the integration of Ukraine to the European Research Area.
  • BLACK SEA HORIZON (2015-2018) supported the relationships between the EU and the Black Sea region through varied measures in the fields of science, technology and innovation.
  • Danube-INCO.NET (2014-2017) supported the EU strategy for the Danube Region in the priorities “Science community” and “Competitiveness” through political dialogue, networks and analyses.
  • IncoNet EaP (2013-2016) focused on establishing a political dialogue on research and development between the countries of the EU and the countries of the Eastern Partnership, as well as involving the regions in the European Research Area.
  • NoGAP (2013-2016) aimed at a closer EU cooperation with the countries of the Eastern Partnership – in addition to Ukraine, Georgia and Belarus were also involved – in order to set up a “Joint knowledge and innovation area” to meet the social challenges of safe, clean and efficient energy.
  • BILAT-UKR*AINA (2012-2015) supported the political dialogue between the EU and Ukraine and was aimed at increased Ukrainian participation in EU research programmes (7th framework programme and Horizon2020).

Ukraine

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und der Ukraine in Wissenschaft, Technologie und Innovation sowie im Bildungsbereich besitzt eine langjährige Tradition. Die Kooperation gewinnt zusätzliche Bedeutung durch die jüngsten politischen Entwicklungen und durch die herausgehobene Rolle der Ukraine im Rahmen der Nachbarschaftspolitik der Europäischen Union.

Flagge Ukraine

Förderung der Zusammenarbeit

Grundsätzlich können im Rahmen laufender Bekanntmachungen auf Antrag Zuschüsse für Maßnahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung zwischen Deutschland und der Ukraine gewährt werden.

Politischer Rahmen

Zentrale Grundlage der Zusammenarbeit ist die 1993 unterzeichnete "Gemeinsame Erklärung des Bundesministeriums für Forschung und Technologie der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und des Staatskomitees für Wissenschaft und Technologie der Ukraine über wissenschaftlich-technische Beziehungen". Partner des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) ist das Ministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft der Ukraine. Die 10. Tagung der gemeinsamen deutsch-ukrainischen WTZ-Arbeitsgruppe fand im Juni 2014 in Kiew statt.

Zusätzlich finden Kooperationen zwischen deutschen und ukrainischen Einrichtungen im Rahmen der Östlichen Partnerschaft innerhalb der Nachbarschaftspolitik der EU und im internationalen Kontext statt. Dabei basiert die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und der Ukraine in Wissenschaft und Technologie auf einem entsprechenden Abkommen vom Juli 2002, das im Juli 2015 erneuert wurde. Insbesondere die Bereitschaft der Ukraine, sich intensiver am Europäischen Forschungsraum (ERA) auszurichten, beispielsweise durch die Assoziierung an das EU-Programm Horizont 2020, eröffnet auch für Deutschland neue Perspektiven in der Intensivierung der Forschungskooperationen mit diesem Zielland.

Schwerpunkte in der Zusammenarbeit

Die wesentlichen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkte in der bilateralen Kooperation liegen in den Bereichen

  • Biotechnologie,
  • Nanotechnologie, neue Materialien und Produktionstechnologie,
  • Gesundheitsforschung und Medizintechnik,
  • Technologien für die effektive Nutzung der Ressourcen und Energie, nachhaltige Umwelttechnologie.

Kooperationspartner auf deutscher Seite sind überwiegend Hochschulen und Einrichtungen der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft; ukrainische Partner sind vor allem die Institute der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften der Ukraine und die Hochschulen.

Zur Unterstützung der Zusammenarbeit mit der Ukraine im Auftrag des BMBF ist ein Ansprechpartner für Forschungskooperationen in Kiew tätig, der vom DLR Projektträger, Internationales Büro betreut wird. Er sammelt und bewertet Informationen zu Wissenschafts- und Innovationspotenzialen und zu aktuellen Entwicklungen in der Ukraine, pflegt kooperationsbezogene Kontakte mit deutschen und ukrainischen Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartnern in Behörden und Forschungseinrichtungen vor Ort, berät deutsche Akteure und wirkt bei der Realisierung bilateraler Aktivitäten in der Ukraine mit.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Im Rahmen des Aktionsplans Ukraine der Bundesregierung initiiert und betreut das BMBF zusammen mit deutschen Wissenschafts- und Mittlerorganisationen bedarfsorientierte Maßnahmen in diversen Zielfeldern in der Ukraine, zum Beispiel zur Internationalisierung der Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen und zur Erhöhung der Forschungsleistung der Universitäten sowie zur Umstrukturierung der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften der Ukraine. In diesem Zusammenhang fanden kürzlich die folgenden bilateralen Veranstaltungen statt:

  • Forum zu aktuellen Herausforderungen in Bildung, Wissenschaft und Innovation an Hochschulen mit dem Ministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft der Ukraine und der Nationalen Taras-Schewtschenko-Universität Kiew als Hauptveranstaltern auf ukrainischer Seite (März 2015, Kiew)
  • Workshop zu Evaluationsmethoden mit der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften der Ukraine (März 2015, Kiew)
  • Konferenz zu deutsch-ukrainischen Erfahrungen bei der Europäisierung der ukrainischen juristischen Ausbildung an der Juristischen Fakultät der Nationalen Taras-Schewtschenko-Universität Kiew (November 2014, Kiew)

Die genannten Veranstaltungen wurden vom BMBF mitausgerichtet bzw. finanziell unterstützt und vom DLR Projektträger, Internationales Büro inhaltlich und organisatorisch begleitet. Folgeaktivitäten befinden sich in der Planung.

Außerdem werden mehrere vom BMBF mitfinanzierte Vorhaben der deutsch-ukrainischen Zusammenarbeit in Wissenschaft und Technologie unterstützt. Sie basieren auf mit der ukrainischen Seite abgestimmten Bekanntmachungen und werden vom DLR Projektträger, Internationales Büro fachlich und administrativ betreut.

  • In einem solchen Vorhaben aus dem Bereich der regenerativen Medizin wird beispielsweise das komplementäre Wissen deutscher und ukrainischer Biologen, Stammzellforscher und Mediziner zur Verbesserung von Prozessschritten genutzt, durch die die Kosten für die Lagerung von Stammzellen gesenkt werden.
  • Ein weiteres deutsch-ukrainisches Kooperationsprojekt leistet einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung einer neuen Klasse von Krebsmedikamenten für die Entwicklung neuer Krebstherapiestrategien.

Kooperationen im Rahmen der EU / Multilaterale Zusammenarbeit

Die vom BMBF gestaltete bilaterale Kooperation mit der Ukraine wird im europäischen Kontext durch vier EU-Projekte ergänzt, an denen der DLR Projektträger, Internationales Büro, 2015 teilnimmt bzw. teilnahm:

  • RI-LINKS2UA (2016-2019) Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Integration der Ukraine in den Europäischen Fotschungsraum (EFR) zu fördern und zu stärken.
  • BILAT-UKR*AINA (2012-2015) unterstützte den Politikdialog zwischen der EU und der Ukraine und zielte auf eine verstärkte ukrainische Teilnahme an den EU-Forschungsprogrammen (7. Rahmenprogramm und Horizont 2020) ab;
  • BLACK SEA HORIZON (2015-2018) unterstützt die Beziehungen zwischen der EU und der Schwarzmeer-Region durch vielfältige Maßnahmen im Bereich von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Innovation.
  • Danube-INCO.NET (2014-2017) unterstützt die EU-Strategie für die Donauregion in den Schwerpunkten "Wissensgesellschaft" und "Wettbewerbsfähigkeit" durch Politikdialog, Netzwerke und Analysen;
  • IncoNet EaP (2013-2016) diente der Etablierung eines Politikdialogs zu Forschung und Entwicklung zwischen den Ländern der EU und den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft sowie der Einbindung der Region in den europäischen Forschungsraum;
  • NoGAP (2013-2016) zielte ab auf eine verstärkte EU-Kooperation mit den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft – neben der Ukraine sind auch Georgien und Weißrussland beteiligt – zum Aufbau eines „Gemeinsamen Raums für Wissen und Innovation“, um der sozialen Herausforderung sicherer, sauberer und effizienter Energie zu begegnen.