New approach to developing scientific cooperation with Africa

The announcement on “Partnerships for Sustainable Solutions with Sub-Saharan Africa: Measures for Research and Integrated Postgraduate Training and Continuing Education” reveals the new approach taken by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) to promoting scientific partnerships.

Researcher at work

© Getty

This promotional measure is a major component of the BMBF’s Africa strategy. It aims to foster cooperation with African partners who are assisting with the implementation of the African strategy, and focuses on plans that take a new approach to dovetailing joint work on one research topic and its practical implementation with measures for joint postgraduate training and continuing education at African institutes of higher education.

Applications may be made by institutes of higher education, extramural research institutions, commercial enterprises based in Germany (particularly small and medium-sized businesses), regional authorities and their affiliates.

At the BMBF’s request, the International Bureau at the DLR Project Management Agency will be implementing module 1, “Research”, while the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) will be implementing module 2, “Postgraduate training and continuing education”.

The main sectors in the announcements are

  • Bioeconomics
  • Sustainable urban development
  • Resource management/raw materials

Please refer to the text of the notice for information on the respective sub-sectors and other general information such as contact details.

Project drafts must be submitted by 1 March 2016 geöffnet.

The text of the announcement is available on theInternational Bureau website. You will also find further information on theDAAD Website.

The DLR Project Management Agency specialises in services for promoting research, innovation and education. As one of Germany’s largest project managers, it assists federal and state ministries with the implementation of research funding programmes and also works for the European Commission, trusts and associations.

Neuer Ansatz für Ausbau der Wissenschaftskooperation mit Afrika

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) verfolgt mit seiner Bekanntmachung zu „Partnerschaften für nachhaltige Lösungen mit Subsahara-Afrika: Maßnahmen für Forschung und integrierter, postgradualer Aus- und Fortbildung“ einen neuen Ansatz in der Förderung von Wissenschaftskooperationen.

Forscher bei einer Untersuchung

© Getty

Die aktuelle Fördermaßnahme ist ein wesentlicher Baustein der Afrika-Strategie des BMBF. Durch sie sollen Kooperationen mit afrikanischen Partnern gefördert werden, die einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Afrika-Strategie leisten. Im Fokus stehen dabei Vorhaben, die in einem neuen  Ansatz die gemeinsame Arbeit an einem Forschungsthema und seine Umsetzung in die Praxis mit Maßnahmen zu gemeinsamer postgradualer Aus- und Fortbildung an afrikanischen Hochschulen miteinander verzahnen.

Antragsberechtigt sind Hochschulen, außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen, Unternehmen der gewerblichen Wirtschaft mit Sitz in Deutschland – insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU), sowie Gebietskörperschaften und deren Zusammenschlüsse.

Auf Wunsch des BMBF übernimmt das Internationale Büro im DLR Projektträger die Implementierung von Modul 1 „Forschung“ und der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) die von Modul 2 „Postgraduale Aus- und Fortbildung“.

Themenschwerpunkte der Bekanntmachung sind

  • Bioökonomie
  • Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung
  • Ressourcenmanagement/Rohstoffe

Die jeweiligen Unterthemen und sonstigen Rahmenbedingungen der Bekanntmachung, sowie die Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartner, können dem Bekanntmachungstext entnommen werden.

Die Bekanntmachung ist für die Einreichung von Projektskizzen bis zum 01. März 2016 geöffnet.

Den Bekanntmachungstext finden Sie im Internetauftritt des Internationalen Büros. Weitere Informationen finden Sie ebenfalls auf der Website des DAAD.

Der DLR Projektträger hat sich auf Dienstleistungen zur Förderung von Forschung, Innovation und Bildung spezialisiert. Als einer der größten Projektträger Deutschlands unterstützt er Landes- und Bundesministerien bei der Umsetzung von Forschungsförderprogrammen, ist für die Europäische Kommission, Stiftungen und Verbände tätig.