German-Russian laboratory is researching shallow water ecosystems

What are the impacts of human intervention and changes to the climate on ecosystems such as the Baltic Sea? This is one of the questions investigated by the Ulrich-Schiewer Laboratory for Experimental Aquatic Ecology (USElab). USElab was founded in Rostock and St. Petersburg in 2011, and the project was completed successfully at the end of April 2015.

Water experiment

© H. Schubert

The aim of the laboratory is to give a permanent structure to the decade-long tradition of a German-Russian cooperation in the field of aquatic ecology. The expertise of the cooperating institutions will be used to train young scientists and research the fields of brackish water ecology and chaos dynamics in communities of plankton.

Research priorities

The main priorities of USElab focus on research into the biodiversity and dynamics of communities as well as on physiological, genetic and molecular biological investigations. These experiments are performed under controlled environmental conditions.

Long-term mesocosm experiment
Long-term mesocosm experiment (partially closed system)
© H. Schubert
Short-term microcosm experiment
Short-term microcosm experiment
© H. Schubert

Distance-learning programme for young scientists

A distance-learning programme for young scientists was developed in order to process and identify plankton samples from brackish water habitats in the transitional sections of rivers and seas. The expertise of the Russian partners was used to jointly develop the distance-learning programme. Tools developed during the project for the convenient handling of memory-intensive image files form the foundations of the web-based training with virtual plankton samples. The module will be integrated into the regular learning programme at Rostock University from the 2015/2016 winter term.

Russian and German scientists benefit from the cooperation

Whereas the distance-learning programme mainly benefits students in Germany and Russia, the cooperation also established contacts with further institutions in the two countries: For instance, the Russian partners gave German scientists access to rare species samples. During trips to Germany, young Russian scientists were introduced to research techniques, which were subsequently established in the Russian partner institutions.

Partner institutions

  • University of Rostock, Biosciences Institute
  • Leibniz Institute for Baltic Sea Research (IOW)
  • Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Cytology and Institute for Zoology

Funding is managed by the International Bureau.

Find out more on the USELab project website.

Deutsch-Russisches Laboratorium erforscht Flachwasserökosysteme

Welche Auswirkungen haben menschliche Eingriffe und Klima-Veränderungen auf Ökosysteme wie die Ostsee? Unter anderem diese Frage untersucht das Ulrich-Schiewer-Laboratorium für experimentelle aquatische Ökologie (USElab). 2011 wurde das USElab in Rostock und St. Petersburg gegründet – Ende April 2015 konnte das Projekt erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden.

Experimente im Meer

© H. Schubert

Das Labor soll der jahrzehntelangen Tradition deutsch-russischer Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der aquatischen Ökologie eine permanente Struktur verleihen. Die Expertise der kooperierenden Institutionen soll für die Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern und die Forschung in den Bereichen Brackwasserökologie und Chaosdynamik von Planktongemeinschaften genutzt werden.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Schwerpunkte des USElab sind die Erforschung der Artenvielfalt und der Dynamik von Lebensgemeinschaften sowie physiologische, genetische und molekularbiologische Untersuchungen. Es werden Experimente unter kontrollierten Umweltbedingungen durchgeführt.

Vier Fässer - Experiment
Langzeit Mesokosmen-Experiment (teilgeschlossene Anlage)
© H. Schubert
Gläser mit Wasser und Plankton
Kurzzeit-Mikrokosmosexperiment
© H. Schubert

 

Fernstudienangebot für Nachwuchswissenschaftler

Entwickelt wurde ein Fernstudienangebot für Nachwuchswissenschaftler zur Bearbeitung und Bestimmung von Planktonproben aus Brackwasserhabitaten in den Übergangsbereichen von Flüssen und Meeren. Die Expertise der russischen Partner wurde für die gemeinsame Entwicklung des Fernstudienangebots genutzt. Im Projekt entwickelte Werkzeuge zur komfortablen Handhabung speicherintensiver Bilddaten sind dabei Grundlage für das webbasierte Training mit virtuellen Planktonproben. Das Modul wird ab Wintersemester 2015/2016 in das reguläre Lehrangebot der Universität Rostock integriert.

Russische und deutsche Wissenschaftler profitieren von der Zusammenarbeit

Während vom Fernstudienangebot hauptsächlich Studierende in Deutschland und Russland profitieren, wurden durch die Zusammenarbeit auch Kontakte zu weiteren Institutionen in beiden Ländern aufgebaut: So ermöglichten zum Beispiel die russischen Partner deutschen Wissenschaftlern Zugang zu seltenen Typusexemplaren. Russische Nachwuchswissenschaftler wurden im Rahmen von Arbeitsaufenthalten in Deutschland in Untersuchungstechniken eingearbeitet, die im Anschluss in den russischen Partnerinstituten etabliert wurden.

Partnereinrichtungen

  • Universität Rostock, Institut für Biowissenschaften
  • Leibniz-Institut für Ostseeforschung(IOW)
  • Russische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Institut für Cytologie und Institut für Zoologie

Betreut wurde die Förderung vom Internationalen Büro:

Ansprechpartnerin
Maria Josten
DLR Projektträger
Internationales Büro
Tel.: +49 228 3821-1415
E-Mail: maria.josten@dlr.de

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Projektwebsite des USELab.