USA

The USA is Germany’s most important partner for scientific and technological collaboration. A great variety of joint and supportive research projects exist in nearly all areas. The two countries traditionally maintain an intense exchange of information. Several thousand scientific and study trips to the other country are funded each year.

Washington D.C.

© Johanna Füllmann / DLR

Funding opportunities

In principle, subsidies can be granted on application as part of the bilateral cooperation in research and education between Germany and the USA.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funds projects on a wide variety of topics in which researchers from Germany and the USA work together. In addition, the division responsible for cooperation with the USA provides resources for workshops and scientific exchange programmes to support young researchers and prepare projects. Measures to promote Germany as a location for study and research are becoming increasingly important

*****

EU related opportunities:

Measures for the exploration of subject areas of particular interest to the BMBF

In coordination with the International Bureau, in individual cases, bilateral workshops and other events can also be financed if they deal topics are of strategic interest to the BMBF. These must be geared towards bringing together partners in research areas relating to specialist programmes of the BMBF and of the European Framework Programme for Research (see Priorities of the cooperation). Normally, support is provided in the form of a grant for travel costs of German project participants to the USA. In exceptional cases, material expenses are paid (incurred as part of preparing for and holding a workshop).

The conception and preparation of such workshops will take place in coordination with the BMBF. Hence, before applying, please contact the specialist at the International Bureau (IB), Dr. Barbara Hellebrandt.

Political context

Cooperation between Germany and the USA is organised in a decentralised way, and is carried out independently by the research organisations, research institutions or researchers. The intergovernmental agreement on science and technological cooperation (STC) signed in February 2010 provides a general framework for the cooperation. Based on this framework agreement, regular joint committee meetings at a ministerial level are scheduled. The first meeting took place in Berlin on 19 and 20 September 2011. Furthermore, over 50 bilateral cooperation agreements were finalised between individual institutions, which form the basis for a tight-knit network of US-German research projects.

The STC agreement that was concluded between the USA and the European Union in 1998 underlines the European dimension of collaborative research and creates further opportunities for cooperation.

Priorities of the cooperation

SOFIA - Parabel-Flugzeug

© NASA / C. Thomas. The Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy SOFIA during its first test flight with fully open telescope door on 18 December 2009 on the California's Mojave Desert.

The focal points for the collaboration are spread across the entire range of research areas. Another sign of the close transatlantic cooperation is the fact that large scientific facilities are used jointly by the USA and Europe. Examples of this include the involvement of the USA in the German Electron Synchotron (DESY) and the US participation in the construction of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN), including the two largest LHC experiments.

The priorities of the cooperation between Germany and the USA are currently primarily focused on the following scientific areas:

Highlights of the bilateral cooperation

A highlight of the collaboration with the USA is the completion of joint projects in health research.

A German-American funding initiative for the collaboration in computational neurosciences commenced in 2009. The BMBF and the National Science Foundation (NSF) are already in the fourth round of the funding of bilateral projects. In the area of regenerative medicine, the BMBF supports the collaborative projects on stem cell research with the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM). The first joint projects were started in 2010. There are plans to develop and expand the collaboration.

In October 2010, an MoU (Memorandum of Understanding) was signed by the BMBF for the establishment of the MIT-Germany Seed Fund. With these new mobility funds, the BMBF is funding the collaboration of MIT scientists with German partners via the International Bureau. The first projects are to be funded from 2012; the second round of projects will commence in 2013.

In April 2013, the BMBF announced a collaboration with the USA focusing on nanotechnology. Six projects are being funded; the first started in early 2014. The priorities of the call for funding applications are: security challenges, materials and battery research.

Background information relating to the research landscape in the USA

The responsibilities regarding research, science and education are split between the federal government and the federal states. The education system as a whole, including the universities, is managed by the federal states. Some federal states also have set up a network of their own research institutions and own research programmes. Education is represented by the U.S. Department of Education founded on a federal level in 1980, which however only has a very limited sphere of responsibility.

At federal level, science policy and public funding for research and development are handled by a large number of authorities, specialised ministries, agencies and committees. In contrast to Germany, the USA have neither a science / research ministry nor a joint research budget. The varied activities of the different specialised ministries and other state institutions are formally coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) and the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) at the White House.

In the USA, research and development receive public funding from a broad range of departments and federal agencies, and are monitored by 13 different Congress committees. The biggest sponsors regarding the budget are:

  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Health
  • NASA
  • Department of Energy

The following federal authorities play a prominent role in the context of R&D funding:

  • National Science Foundation – NSF
  • Department of Energy – DoE
  • Laboratories of the National Instititute of Standards and Technology – NIST
  • National Institutes of Health – NIH
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration – NASA
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – NOAA
  • Department of Homeland Security – DHS
  • Department of Defense – DoD
  • Environmental Protection Agency – EPA
  • Department of the Interior - DOI
  • United States Geological Survey – USGS
  • Department of Agriculture – USDA
  • Department of Education – ED
  • Department of Transportation – DOT

The Department of State (DOS) does not have a significant R&D budget of its own and also no direct access to the (research) activities of other departments and scientific institutions. However, it plays a role in international cooperation on the level of scientific foreign policy, such as via treaties in the area of scientific and technological cooperation (STC).

Cooperation in the context of the EU

The US government and the European Commission discuss the context of the cooperation between the USA and the EU at regular meetings of the Joint Science and Technology Cooperation Committee (JSTCC). The priorities of this collaboration are on the research areas marine and polar research, transport, health and nanotechnology as well as advanced materials and new production technologies (NMP).

The BILAT USA 4.0 project is a bilateral partnership project between the EU and the USA. The objective is to promote cooperation with the USA through country analyses, by organising thematic events for European and US scientists and by improving the administrative and financial framework conditions of the cooperation. The project, which started in February 2016, combines 16 US and European institutions. The coordination of this project was entrusted to the European and International Cooperation Department of the DLR Project Management Agency.

The ENRICH in the USA initiative started in April 2017. ENRICH is the European Network of Research and Innovation Centres and Hubs. Promoted by the European Commission through Horizon 2020, the ENRICH Network currently offers services to connect European research, technology and business organisations with three global frontrunner innovation markets: Brazil, China and the USA. ENRICH in the USA is powered by NearUS, the H2020 initiative to establish a Network of European Research and Innovation Centres throughout the United States of America. ENRICH USA acts as a central contact point for European research and innovation actors seeking to grow and reinforce collaboration across the Atlantic.

Check out current EU related funding opportunities.

The role of the International Bureau

The bilateral cooperation between the governments and the research and development institutions in Germany are supported by the International Bureau (IB). The International Bureau is involved in preparing funding announcements and supports ongoing research projects scientifically and administratively. In addition, the IB assists its principals with holding scientific workshops, information events and talks in an international context.

In terms of the cooperation with the USA, the IB manages the current projects of the call for funding applications in the context of funding the scientific and technological cooperation (STC) of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research with the USA in the fields of nanotechnology, the MIT Germany Seed Fund and other ongoing individual and joint projects of German research institutions with the USA.

USA

Die USA sind Deutschlands wichtigster Partner in der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Zusammenarbeit. Es gibt eine Vielzahl gemeinsamer und ergänzender Forschungsvorhaben in nahezu allen Bereichen. Die beiden Länder unterhalten traditionell einen intensiven Informationsaustausch. Jährlich werden einige tausend Wissenschafts- und Studienaufenthalte im jeweils anderen Land gefördert.

Bild mit Sonnenuntergang in Washington D.C.

© Internationales Büro/Johanna Füllmann

Förderungsmöglichkeiten für die USA

Grundsätzlich können auf Antrag Zuschüsse im Rahmen der bilateralen Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung zwischen Deutschland und den USA gewährt werden.

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert Projekte, in denen Forschende aus Deutschland und den USA zusammenarbeiten zu vielfältigen Themen. Außerdem werden von Seiten des für die Zusammenarbeit mit den USA zuständigen Länderreferates Mittel für Anbahnungsaktivitäten, Workshops, den Wissenschaftleraustausch und für die Nachwuchsförderung aufgewendet. Maßnahmen zur Werbung für den Studien- und Forschungsstandort Deutschland gewinnen zunehmend an Bedeutung.

Die Bekannmachung "Richtlinie zur Förderung von Antragstellungen im Rahmen des EU-Rahmenprogramms für Forschung und Innovation Horizont 2020 mit Partnern aus Nord- und Südamerika" ist noch bis zum 20. Dezember 2017 geöffnet.

Maßnahmen zur Sondierung und Vernetzung in Themenbereichen von besonderem BMBF-Interesse

In Abstimmung mit dem Internationalen Büro können in Einzelfällen zu Themen, die für das BMBF von strategischem Interesse sind, bilaterale Workshops und andere Veranstaltungen finanziell unterstützt werden. Diese sollen darauf ausgerichtet sein, Partner in Forschungsbereichen zusammen zu bringen, die einen Bezug zu den Fachprogrammen des BMBF und dem europäischen Forschungsrahmenprogramm haben (siehe Schwerpunkte der Kooperation). In der Regel wird die Unterstützung in Form einer Bezuschussung von Reisekosten deutscher Projektteilnehmer in die USA gewährt. In Ausnahmefällen können Sachmittel (in Zusammenhang mit der Vorbereitung und Durchführung eines Workshops) gefördert werden.

Die Konzeption und Vorbereitung solcher Workshops findet in Abstimmung mit dem BMBF statt. Bitte nehmen Sie deshalb vor der Beantragung Kontakt mit der fachlichen Ansprechpartnerin im Internationalen Büeo (IB), Dr. Barbara Hellebrandt, auf.

Aktuelles

Die zweite Sitzung der wissenschaftlichen und technischen Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) zwischen Deutschland und den USA fand am 06. Mai 2015 in Washington D.C. statt. Hauptthemen waren Gesundheit, Smart Cities, Intelligente Produktionsverfahren, Elektromobilität und Hochenergiephysik.

Politischer Rahmen

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und den USA ist dezentral organisiert und wird von den Forschungsorganisationen, Forschungsinstituten bzw. Forschern selbstständig betrieben. Das im Februar 2010 unterzeichnete Regierungsabkommen über die wissenschaftlich-technologische Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) verleiht der Kooperation einen übergeordneten Rahmen. Auf Grundlage des Rahmenabkommens sind regelmäßige Joint Committee Meetings auf ministerieller Ebene vorgesehen. Das erste Treffen fand am 19./20.09.2011 in Berlin statt. Außerdem wurden mehr als 50 bilaterale Kooperationsvereinbarungen zwischen Einzelinstitutionen abgeschlossen, die die Basis für ein enges Netzwerk deutsch-amerikanischer Forschungsprojekte bilden.

Das WTZ-Abkommen zwischen den USA und der Europäischen Union von 1998 unterstreicht die europäische Dimension der Forschungszusammenarbeit und schafft weitere Kooperationschancen.

Schwerpunkte in der Zusammenarbeit

SOFIA - Parabel-Flugzeug

© NASA / C. Thomas. Das Stratosphären-Observatorium für Infrarot-Astronomie SOFIA während seines ersten Testflugs mit vollständig geöffneter Teleskoptür am 18. Dezember 2009 über der kalifornischen Mojave-Wüste.

Die Schwerpunkte in der Zusammenarbeit sind über die gesamte Breite der Forschungsgebiete gefächert. Die enge transatlantische Kooperation wird auch durch die gemeinsame Nutzung wissenschaftlicher Großgeräte in den USA und Europa dokumentiert. Hierzu gehören die Mitwirkung der USA beim Deutschen Elektronen Synchotron (DESY) sowie die US-Beteiligung am Bau des Large Hadron Collider (LHC) bei der Europäischen Organisation für Kernforschung (CERN), einschließlich der beiden großen LHC-Experimente.

Die Schwerpunkte der Kooperation zwischen Deutschland und den USA konzentrieren sich derzeit im Wesentlichen auf folgende Wissenschaftsbereiche:

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Ein Höhepunkt der Zusammenarbeit mit den USA ist die Durchführung gemeinsamer Projekte in der Gesundheitsforschung.

Im Jahr 2009 wurde eine deutsch-US-amerikanische Förderinitiative in der Zusammenarbeit in den Computational Neurosciences begonnen. Hier fördern das BMBF und die National Science Foundation (NSF) bereits in einer vierten Förderrunde bilaterale Projekte. Im Bereich der Regenerativen Medizin unterstützt das BMBF die Projektkooperation mit dem kalifornischen Institut für Regenerative Medizin (CIRM) in der Stammzellenforschung. Erste gemeinsame Projekte wurden im Jahr 2010 begonnen. Eine Ausweitung der Kooperation ist vorgesehen.

Im Oktober 2010 wurde von Seiten des BMBF ein MoU zur Einrichtung des MIT-Germany Seed Funds unterzeichnet. Mit diesem neuen Mobilitätsfonds fördert das BMBF über das Internationale Büro die Kooperation von Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen des MIT mit deutschen Partnern. Die ersten Projekte werden ab dem Jahr 2012 gefördert, die Projekte der zweiten Runde beginnen im Jahr 2013.

Im April 2013 erfolgte die Bekanntmachung des BMBF im Bereich Nanotechnologie und dem Fokus der Zusammenarbeit mit den USA. Sechs Projekte werden gefördert, wobei die ersten zu Beginn des Jahres 2014 anliefen. Schwerpunktbereiche der Bekanntmachung sind Sicherheitsaspekte, Material- und Batterieforschung.

Hintergrundinformationen zur Forschungslandschaft in den USA

Die Zuständigkeiten für Forschung, Wissenschaft und Bildung teilen sich die Bundesregierung und die Bundesstaaten. Das gesamte Bildungswesen, einschließlich der Universitäten, unterliegt den Bundesstaaten. Einzelne Bundesstaaten haben auch ein Netz eigener Forschungsinstitute und eigene Forschungsprogramme etabliert. Der Bildungsbereich wird auf bundesstaatlicher Ebene vom 1980 gegründeten U.S. Department of Education vertreten, der aber nur einen sehr eingeschränkten Zuständigkeitsbereich hat.

Auf Bundesebene werden Wissenschaftspolitik und öffentliche Förderung von Forschung und Entwicklung von einem breiten Spektrum von Behörden, Fachministerien, Agenturen und Gremien getragen. Im Gegensatz zu Deutschland gibt es in den USA weder ein Wissenschafts- bzw. Forschungsministerium noch einen gemeinsamen Forschungsetat. Die vielfältigen Aktivitäten der verschiedenen Fachministerien und anderen staatlichen Einrichtungen werden formal im Weißen Haus durch das Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), das Office of Management and Budget (OMB), den National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) und den President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) koordiniert.

Forschung und Entwicklung erfährt in den USA ihre öffentliche Förderung durch ein breites Spektrum von Ministerien (Departments) und Bundesagenturen und wird von 13 verschiedenen Kongresskomitees kontrolliert. Die budgetmäßig größten Fördergeber sind:

  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Health
  • NASA
  • Department of Energy

Folgende Bundesbehörden spielen im Kontext der FuE-Förderung eine prominente Rolle:

  • National Science Foundation – NSF
  • Department of Energy – DoE
  • Laboratorien des National Instititute of Standards and Technology – NIST
  • National Institutes of Health – NIH
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration – NASA
  • National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration – NOAA
  • Department of Homeland Security – DHS
  • Department of Defense – DoD
  • Environmental Protection Agency – EPA
  • Department of the Interior - DOI
  • United States Geological Survey – USGS
  • Department of Agriculture – USDA
  • Department of Education – ED
  • Department of Transportation – DOT

Das Department of State (DOS) hat kein eigenes, signifikantes FuE-Budget und auch keinen direkten Zugriff auf die (Forschungs-) Aktivitäten anderer Ressorts oder Wissenschaftseinrichtungen. Es spielt aber in der internationalen Kooperation auf dem Gebiet der Wissenschaftsaußenpolitik u. a. über die Abkommen im Bereich der wissenschaftlich-technologischen Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) eine Rolle.

Kooperationen im Rahmen der EU

Der Rahmen für die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den USA und der EU wird bei regelmäßigen Treffen durch das Joint Science and Technology Cooperation Committee (JSTCC) zwischen der Regierung der USA und der Europäischen Kommission diskutiert. Die Schwerpunkte der Zusammenarbeit liegen hier in den Forschungsbereichen der Meeres- und Polarforschung, Transport, Gesundheit sowie Nanotechnologie, fortgeschrittene Materialien und neue Produktionstechnologien (NMP).

Das Projekt BILAT USA 4.0 ist ein bilaterales Partnerschaftsprojekt zwischen der EU und den USA (www.euussciencetechnology.eu/). Ziel ist die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit mit den USA durch Länderanalysen, die Organisation thematischer Veranstaltungen für europäische und US-amerikanische Wissenschaftler sowie die Verbesserung der administrativen und finanziellen Rahmenbedingungen bei der Kooperation. Das Projekt vereint 16 Einrichtungen aus den USA und Europa. Koordinator ist der DLR Projektträger, das Internationale Büro.

Ein besonderes Highlight der europäisch-US-amerikanischen und kanadischen Kooperation:
die EU, Kanada und die USA unterzeichneten am 24. Mai 2013 das Galway Statement zur Kooperation im atlantischen Ozean. Das Abkommen beinhaltet u.a. die Etablierung von zwei Arbeitsgruppen (Meeres- und Arktisgruppe), die eine gemeinsame Forschungsagenda entwickeln und die Aktivitäten der drei Kooperationspartner stärker bündeln sollen.

Die Rolle des Internationalen Büros

Die bilaterale Kooperation der Regierungen sowie der Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Institutionen wird in Deutschland vom Internationalen Büro (IB) unterstützt. Das Internationale Büro wirkt bei der Vorbereitung von Förderbekanntmachungen mit und begleitet laufende Forschungsprojekte wissenschaftlich sowie administrativ. Des Weiteren unterstützt das IB seine Auftraggeber bei der Durchführung von wissenschaftlichen Workshops, Informationsveranstaltungen und Vorträgen im internationalen Kontext.

In Bezug auf die Kooperation mit den USA betreut das IB die laufenden Projekte der Bekanntmachung im Rahmen der Förderung der Wissenschaftlich-Technologischen Zusammenarbeit (WTZ) des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung mit den USA im Bereich Nanotechnologie, die MIT-Germany Seed Funds sowie weitere laufende Einzel- und Verbundvorhaben deutscher Forschungsinstitutionen mit den USA.