Thailand

Since 2011, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Thai Ministry of Research have published joint funding announcements on the back of individual bilateral initiation measures and R&D projects. Applications for grants relating to the education and research cooperation can only be submitted in the context of these announcements.

Skyline of Bangkok

© Warren Goldswain / iStock / Thinkstock

Funding opportunities

For up-to-date information please vist our web page 'Current Announcements'.

Please get in touch if you have any questions about the support services provided by the International Bureau.

Political framework

No formal agreement relating to the bilateral education and research cooperation has been concluded so far.

Priorities of the cooperation

However a first bilateral pilot announcement to fund the German-Thai cooperation was published in 2011 on the back of a number of political talks between the BMBF and the representatives of the Thai research ministry. The pilot measure included funding for project-based mobility. The agreed “Terms of Reference” form the basis for the funding announcement, setting out the key aspects for the parties involved regarding preparation and implementation of the announcement. The pilot measure was realised by the organisations NSTDA and the International Bureau at the DLR Project Management Agency, which work for the ministries. The following areas were agreed as topics for the call for proposals:

  • Health research/infectious diseases,
  • Nutrition/ agriculture,
  • Environment/ renewable energies,
  • Logistics/ transport systems.

Ten applications for projects were evaluated as positive and received funding. The projects were launched in June 2012 and had a term of up to two years.

Based on the experiences of the pilot measure, a second announcement to fund German-Thai cooperation was published in September 2013. The following topics were agreed in terms of funding for project-based mobility:

  • Health research/infectious diseases,
  • Nutrition/ agriculture,
  • Environment/ biodiversity,
  • Logistics/ infrastructure,
  • Demographic change.

The BMBF currently provides funding for 15 projects in the context of this funding announcement.

In addition, since 2009, the BMBF has also funded structural partnerships of German universities in Asia as part of the programme “Design and preparatory measures of German universities to establish joint research structures with partners in the Asia-Pacific region”. This programme has since resulted in 20 joint research platforms with top-class institutes across Asia, with nine more currently being developed. Currently, cooperations relating to sustainable water resources management and flood protection, as well as “digital engineering”, are ongoing in Thailand as part of this programme.

Highlights of the bilateral cooperation

Increase in the efficiency of solar collectors

Solar collectors Bangkok

© Dr. W. Ratismith

Mobility measures for a project aimed at optimising the efficiency of solar collectors were funded in the context of the joint funding announcement by Germany and Thailand in September 2011. The Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems and the Institute for Energy Research at Chulalongkorn University were the partners of the project, which received funding from September 2012 to August 2014. The aim of the cooperation was to optimise so-called “non-tracking” solar collectors. The design of the collectors was to be adjusted in such way that this would increase the system’s effectiveness without the need to use energy-consuming positional motors to track the sun. Furthermore, the collectors were to be adapted to the tropical climate conditions in Thailand. Given the greater intensity of cloud formation in tropical climate zones, solar collectors must be able to harvest a greater proportion of diffuse radiation. The adjustments were to be tested using simulations and be used as the basis for new prototypes.

The data obtained in the project was combined with complementary knowledge to enable an improved collector design, which was tested successfully. The many years of experience of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems in the development of solar collectors paired with knowledge regarding the requirements for such systems in Thailand constituted the basis for the project’s success.

The role of the International Bureau

On behalf of the BMBF, the International Bureau aims to extend the international networking of German universities, research institutions and businesses in order to enhance the position of German science and industry in terms of expertise and innovation. The International Bureau thereby contributes to implementing the international dimension of the specialist programmes of the BMBF.

Thailand

In der Folge einzelner bilateraler Anbahnungsmaßnahmen und FuE-Vorhaben werden seit dem Jahr 2011 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem thailändischen Forschungsministerium gemeinsame Förderbekanntmachungen veröffentlicht. Anträge auf Zuschüsse zur Zusammenarbeit in Bildung und Forschung können nur im Rahmen dieser Bekanntmachungen gestellt werden.

Skyline Bangkok

© Warren Goldswain / iStock / Thinkstock

Fördermöglichkeiten

Die Bekannmachung 'Richtlinie zur Förderung von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben zum Thema "Nachhaltige Entwicklung urbaner Regionen"' ist noch bis zum 25. April 2017 geöffnet.

Politischer Rahmen

Bislang gibt es kein formales Abkommen zur bilateralen Kooperation in Bildung und Forschung.

Schwerpunkte in der Zusammenarbeit

In der Folge einer Reihe von politischen Gesprächen zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und Vertretern des thailändischen Forschungsministeriums wurde im Jahr 2011 jedoch eine erste bilaterale Pilotbekanntmachung zur Förderung der deutsch-thailändischen Kooperation veröffentlicht. Die Pilotmaßnahme beinhaltete die Förderung von projektbasierter Mobilität. Grundlage der Förderbekanntmachung waren abgestimmte „Terms of Reference“, die für die beteiligten Partner die zentralen Aspekte der Vorbereitung und Abwicklung der Bekanntmachung festschrieben. Die Pilotmaßnahme wurde über die den Ministerien nachgeordneten Organisationen NSTDA und das Internationale Büro im DLR Projektträger abgewickelt. Als Themen der Ausschreibung wurden folgende Bereiche festgelegt:

  • Gesundheitsforschung/Infektionskrankheiten,
  • Ernährung/ Landwirtschaft,
  • Umwelt/ Erneuerbare Energien
  • Logistik/ Transportsysteme

Zehn Projektanträge wurden positiv evaluiert und gefördert. Die Projekte sind ab Juni 2012 gestartet und hatten eine Laufzeit von maximalzwei Jahren.

Auf Grundlage der Erfahrungen mit der Pilotmaßnahme wurde im September 2013 die zweite Bekanntmachung zur Förderung der deutsch-thailändischen Kooperation veröffentlicht. Als Themen für die Förderung von projektbasierter Mobilität wurden festgelegt:

  • Gesundheitsforschung/ Infektionskrankheiten,
  • Ernährung/ Landwirtschaft,
  • Umwelt/ Biodiversität,
  • Logistik/ Infrastruktur
  • Demographischer Wandel.

Im Rahmen dieser Förderbekanntmachung werden derzeit 15 Vorhaben durch das BMBF gefördert.

Mit dem Programm „Konzeptions- und Vorbereitungsmaßnahmen deutscher Hochschulen zur Etablierung gemeinsamer Forschungsstrukturen mit Partnern im asiatisch-pazifischen Forschungsraum“ (APRA) fördert das BMBF seit 2009 zudem strukturelle Partnerschaften deutscher Hochschulen in Asien. Mit dem Programm konnten inzwischen mehr als 20 gemeinsame Forschungsplattformen mit Spitzeninstituten in ganz Asien aufgebaut werden; neun weitere werden derzeit entwickelt. Mit Thailand laufen in diesem Programm aktuell Kooperationen zum nachhaltigen Wasserressourcen-Management und Hochwasserschutz sowie im Bereich „Digital Engineering“.

Höhepunkte der bilateralen Kooperation

Effizienzsteigerung bei Solarkollektoren

Sonnenkollektoren Bangkok

© Dr. W. Ratismith

Im Rahmen der gemeinsamen deutsch-thailändischen Förderbekanntmachung vom September 2011 wurden Mobilitätsmaßnahmen in einem Vorhaben zur Optimierung der Effizienz von Solarkollektoren gefördert. Partner des vom September 2012 bis zum August 2014 unterstützten Projekts waren das Fraunhofer Institut für Solare Energiesysteme und das Institut für Energieforschung der Chulalongkorn Universität. Durch die Kooperation sollten so genannte "non-tracking" Solarkollektoren optimiert werden. Das Design der Kollektoren sollte so angepasst werden, dass der Wirkungsgrad der Anlagen erhöht wird, ohne auf die Nutzung von energieverbrauchenden Stellmotoren zur Ausrichtung zurückgreifen zu müssen. Zudem sollte eine Anpassung an die tropischen Klimabedingungen in Thailand erfolgen. Bedingt durch die intensivere Wolkenbildung in tropischen Klimazonen müssen die Solarkollektoren für eine höheren Anteil diffuser Strahlung ausgerichtet sein. Die Anpassungen sollten mit Simulationen getestet und als Grundlage für neue Prototypen genutzt werden.

Auf Grundlage der in dem Projekt gewonnen Daten konnte durch Zusammenführung komplementären Wissens ein verbessertes Kollektoren-Design entwickelt und erfolgreich getestet werden. Die lange Erfahrung des Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme in der Entwicklung von Solarkollektoren gepaart mit dem Wissen über die Erfordernisse für solche Anlagen in Thailand, waren die Grundlage für den Erfolg des Vorhabens.

Rolle des Internationalen Büros

Das Internationale Büro verfolgt im Auftrag des BMBF das Ziel, die internationale Vernetzung deutscher Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen auszubauen, um Kompetenzgewinne und Innovationsvorsprünge für die deutsche Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft herauszuarbeiten. Damit leistet das Internationale Büro einen Beitrag zur Umsetzung der internationalen Dimension in den Fachprogrammen des BMBF.